Q1. Choose one of the object you selected and describe how your initial understanding of its affordances changed over the course of the exercise?

In this tutorial, one of the objects I brought was a comb. At the first stage, I just took a look at the comb without physically touching it and thought about the basic affordances it has such as for brushing hair. Then on the second stage I physically touched it and think what else I can do with it. Then I figured out that I could make some funny sound with my comb and thought that the comb could be a musical instrument. On the third stage, I changed the context of the object, in this case I chose comb to be used in the kitchen. hence I found out that it could be used to replace the fork because they both have quite similar shape. I found out that I could use the comb to mash avocados and even to take some spaghetti from a large bowl.

Hence, through these stages I became understand the affordances of an object could be discovered when we as the users are capable to make use of the properties of an object without any written or verbal instructions.

Q2. Given that affordances is a relational property between a person and an object, how did the manipulation of the object and the person’s abilities inform your understanding of the concept? Did it give you inspiration or insight for how to work with affordances as a designer? Discuss this through the specific objects you explored in the exercise

As a good design should have a lot of affordances, the modification exercise is one of the example to provide chances to our partner (user) to explore additional or hidden affordances of an object.

This exercise gave me some insights on how important the affordance is. As designers, we should be able to design an object that has ability to show its affordances so that the users could easily understand what they could do to it or otherwise, the object would become ‘useless’. Moreover, we should also let the users be imaginative with our products so we could always improve our designs.

