Q1. Choose one of the objects you selected and describe how your initial understanding of its affordances changed over the course of the exercise?

The object I chosen is toothpaste. At the very beginning, I think it can only be used for us to clean our teeth. But this exercise let us to think if we change it from bathroom to kitchen or bedroom, whether it will have some more affordances. And I thought if I put it into the kitchen, I could use it clean bowls, pots or other things. If I put it in the bedroom, I could use it to clean the corner of drawers.

 Q2. Given that affordances is a relational property between a person and an object, how did the manipulation of the object and the person’s abilities inform your understanding of the concept? Did it give you inspiration or insight for how to work with affordances as a designer? Discuss this through the specific objects you explored in the exercise. 

-Sometimes people cannot use some parts of body to control or complete something, so they need to rely on some objects that can help them. So some connections are created. For examples, the toothpaste I chosen, I want to rebuild a connection between People and kitchen, so I used aluminum foil to cover its appearance, and added an arc parts in its head. Then it was changed as a big spoon or spatula.

-Inspirations comes from our daily life. When we want to solve some problems, we would get inspirations easier. As a designer, I think he can think the affordances as different angles. Apart from object’s original property, change its weight, shape, volume may create some affordances.

 

