1)Choose one of the object you selected and describe how your initial understanding of its affordances changed over the course of the exercise?

The object I chose is a coaster I grabbed from the table of my living room. In the beginning, naturally I think it is just a ordinary coaster that prevent cups marking the table, but after I holding it in my hands and playing with it for a while, I found it can be a Frisbee for naughty kids or innocent adults. And before long, I found another affordance, it can be a decision maker acting like flipping a coin for those people always find it hard to make a simple decision on even having rice or noodles for meal, because it has two sides with different style, just like a coin, a sticker with one fiji woman in the top side and wooden pattern back side.

2)Given that affordances is a relational property between a person and an object, how did the manipulation of the object and the person’s abilities inform your understanding of the concept? Did it give you inspiration or insight for how to work with affordances as a designer? Discuss this through the specific objects you explored in the exercise.

Affordances of a object are depending on the person’s abilities, habits and even culture background. So it’s important to put ourselves into other’s shoes and build the empathy, and then different affordances would appear. As a designer, multiple affordance should be provided for a product, explicit or hidden, and also, a design should always have many possibilities waiting users to explore.

