1) What kinds of information and insights did it give you about the usability of the prototype?

As a user

User observation

In the prototype, if I am the user, I have to show my thoughts and feelings while I was doing the task. Non-verbal expressions also provide important information in prototyping. Sometimes, these non-verbal expressions can show your status more directly.

Think aloud

Because I need to perform as a user, I have to try my best to act like what I will do if I were really using a product. However, sometimes it is quite difficult to perform as usual. You know that you are being observed, and this can lead to some unexpected feelings, such as upset. Sometimes, I just thought of some ways to solve the problem, but they are not what the observers expect me to do. It is really a challenge.

 

As an evaluator

User observation

Observing and recording most of the behaviours of the user are not a simple task. It is better to record those important ones. Sometimes, I have to communicate with the users to lead the task. Sometimes, if the users did not speak anything, I have to focus on both of the behaviours and the screen.

Think aloud

From the users’ words and facial expressions, we can know that if they have some problems or finish the tasks easily. The challenge is to identify these behaviours.

 

2) What aspects of the technique worked well or were frustrating?

As a user

User observation

Advantages: different ways to express feelings, can focus on tasks

Disadvantages: cannot observe as usual

 

Think aloud

Advantages: the performance can simulate behaviours in a real situation

Disadvantages: performance can be influenced by personal factors

 

 

As an Evaluator

User observation

Advantages: gain data from different ways

Disadvantages: difficult to record detailed information

 

Think aloud

Advantages: a good way to search the usability

Disadvantages: sometimes have to lead the user, sometimes they cannot find the solutions because of poor observation

 

