What kinds of information and insights did it give you about the usability of the prototype?

As the user (Task #3: library website)

The prototype (Sydney University Library website) is not very user-friendly, with unfamiliar hyperlinks and lots of it, hence there will be a lot of possibilities to navigate to the wrong page. The prorotype also gave me a new insight about an unfamiliar feature of the website, which I never knew existed. Besides that, testing this prototype also gave me an idea about the site’s function to sort out the contents based on the various subject fields.

As the evaluator (as the recorder & administrator)

As the evaluator, I found out that the first protoype (ticket booking site) does not have any ‘book’ button to the specified event, whether it was because the tickets are sold out or has to be purchased elsewhere outside the venue’s website. There was no clear information on that on the website, so our tester had to improvise by booking another event. Whereas for the second task (finding the cheapest tablet), the prototype showed a flawed search filtering function, which turns out to be causing a frustration to the tester who had to redo the search from the very beginning. For the fouth task (taking a course online), the prototype was functioning fairly properly, so our tester managed to accomplish her task without much difficulties.
What aspects of the technique worked well or were frustrating?

As the user (Task #3: library website)

Navigating the massive Library website of Sydney University, which I have been using quite regularly, turns out to be not as easy as I thought it would be. Especially because the task involves navigating function which I’d never used or thought about using before: searching article of a certain topic on Google Scholar. The thinking aloud technique was not familiar to me, so at the beginning, I found myself talking very little, because I was focused on performing a rather difficult task on a not-so user-friendly interface. So much so, that I needed help from the task adminisitrator who was giving me instructions.

Screen-Capture.jpg

As the evaluator (as the recorder & administrator)

The technique worked well in allowing me as the observer to notice the fluctuating emotions of the subject while performing the task. What I previously would not notice such as facial expressions, body language, and other non-verbal cues. The technique is quite challenging as it requires a pair of keen eyes and ears to observe the subtle changes that the subject expresses. But luckily with the aid of the  form, this was made simpler, although filling up the form itself, posed another challenge of itself, because the form’s quite complex and unfamiliar.

Processed with MOLDIV

