Q1. What kinds of information and insights did it give you about the usability of the prototype?

User observation:

-User:

Expressions on my face can reflect my satisfactions. I need to complete tasks by the instructions on the paper, but it maybe not clear sometimes. And the evaluator may talk to me to give me some guidance if he has ideas.

-Evaluator:

In the process of usability test, evaluator need to observe, record and measure users’ effectiveness, efficiency and satisfaction aspects of completing tasks. This technology could accurately feedback users’ performance and their needs. Time users used can reflect the difficulty of the task in some way.

Think aloud:

-User:

When I did the test, I can interact with the real products. And I just said what I thought and my experiences directly. I pointed out some error or confused areas need to be corrected directly as well.

-Evaluator:

As an evaluator, if users cannot complete the test path, I will consider that this may be because the system design does not meet user expectations. In addition, it also makes me rethink why users would have this behavior and further consider some other aspects of the prototype’s usability.

 

Q2. What aspects of the technique worked well or were frustrating?

-User observation:

Advantages: Observer does not patriciate in the test, which could ensure the objectivity of results. No special equipment requirement, I just need to sit next to the user, observing and recording his performance.

Disadvantage: If the number of users is small, the result may exist occasionally, which cannot completely reflect all situations.

-Think aloud:

Advantage: This technology is convincing, which reflects users’ real reactions of the prototype.

Disadvantage: The number of users may influence results of test as well.

 

 

 

