1. Briefly reflect on the lessons learnt from each exercise

a. Reflective listening

Reflective listening is helpful for me to effectively communicate with my interviewees. By this way, I can build empathy with them and think from their perspectives. During the whole talking, I just as a good listener and focus on the interviewees’ stories. I believe that becoming a complete listener is a important skill for a designer. After the interview, I could analyze and review the notes to understand interviewees’ feelings and experience.   It is a really good method to use reflective listening for finding different information from a deeper insight.

b. Defamiliarisation of everyday reality

The word “defamiliarisation” is unfamiliar for me, and I am just used to use the familiar tools and ways to solve problems in daily life. When I watched the two video, I felt uncomfortable and confused, but I found it was a new view to see the world and observe the life. I always go home by train, but I never stay in a station to observe the train coming and leaving. Therefore, defamiliarisation of everyday reality provides me with a new method to think about different aspects of the same thing.

c. Empathic modelling

As one without glasses, I couldn’t imagine what is like those nearsighted people’s life. Through sheltering the camera of my iphone with plastic wrap, I felt an unclear vision and an interesting world. Although it is not same as nearsighted people’s life, I also can take a picture from a totally different and unfamiliar world. And when I wore a pair of glasses with plastic wrap, it was really amazing for me and all familiar surrounding environment became unfamiliar.

 

2.  Complement your reflections with photographs of the process

WechatIMG4.jpegWechatIMG6.jpegWechatIMG5.jpegWechatIMG7.jpeg

3.  Include a scanned copy of your defamiliarisation forms (public transport)

WechatIMG11.jpegWechatIMG12.jpeg

