1.How did this exercise help you build empathy with prospective users?

Through reading the interview of user, I could immerse his/her story and focus the view of prospective user. There were four aspects that should be concerned about the user: interests, needs, motivation and frustration. This exercise help me understand the user’s feelings and attitudes. It was interesting for me to share the different findings in my group, because I could receive various ideas from my partners and find the commonality of different characters. I think this exercise provided me with opportunities to design and think from the user’s perspective, which is meaningful to build empathy with prospective users.

WechatIMG2.jpeg

2. How did the clustering of information help you to understand user needs?

The clustering of information was clear and logical for me to understand user’s needs. I can easily find out the commonalities and differences of users, so I could analysis the trends and possibilities. Besides, when we created the clustering of information, there was a form that was written with “I want…”in the beginning. This form of representation is based on the user center, which could show more users’ emotions, and designers would easily understand and find out how to satisfy the users’ needs.

3. What was difficult or challenging with the technique? How would you do it better next time?

The difficult with the technique was  summarizing and concluding the points and ideas from all group members. Everyone has different ways to understand and express the findings from users’ stories, therefore summarizing all ideas is challenging. Apart from that, filtering meaningful information is also a little difficult, because the content of user’s interview includes a lot of information. So I have to read quickly and effectively in a short period time.

In order to do it better next time, I will focus on more details about the user’s story, and read the interview more quickly so that I could clearly understand the user’s all feelings and needs.

WechatIMG1.jpeg

 

 

 

 

 

 

