As the user

Q1. What kinds of information and insights did it give you about the usability of the prototype?

User observation: it gives information about the my feeling through my facial expressions and the words I said. If I was confused and stuck, that mean the usability of the prototype might not good.

Think-aloud: when we verbalize our actions, we spontaneously say what is in our mind, without thinking to much. I think this gives the users opportunity to say what’s actually happening (e.g. the problems they face or the things they like about the prototype)

Q2. What aspects of the technique worked well or were frustrating?

User observation: facial expressions didn’t work quite well because personally I don’t express myself to much through my face.

Think-aloud: this method worked quite well for me because it ‘forced’ me to say what was going on.

As the evaluator

Q1. What kinds of information and insights did it give you about the usability of the prototype?

User observation:  if they react in the extremely negative ways, that means the prototype did not work quite well, and vice versa. if the users did not express to much with their faces, it could mean that the prototype was ‘OK’. But, this method should be tested to several users because the result from one user might be different from the others due to the users’ background.

Think-aloud: this method gives a ‘live and honest report’ of what’s the user doing and think.

Q2. What aspects of the technique worked well or were frustrating?

User observation: most of the users did not expressed much through their faces/words. I think the facial and verbal expressions depend on what the task is and to who the task was given. Say if the tasks in the tutorial were given to the elderly people, they might react in more extreme ways.

Think-aloud: sometimes the users did not talk much so we need to encourage them to do so.

