How did taking the position of an Extreme User influence your thinking in relation to the design challenge? Was it different to how you usually generate ideas and empathy?

I think sometimes extreme users can be representatives of all kinds of normal users. Normally, they have both special needs and normal needs. Therefore, taking the position of an extreme user requires designers to use imagination, think problems from a bigger picture and include detail information about the potential user. The process has to be thorough and we should try to include as much detail as we could for a usable product. However, this is quite different from how I normally generate ideas. I would usually start from myself. Then, think about what kind of common issues will appear in my own situation among normal people and automatically leave out those extreme situations. The Extreme User Activity gives me a new method of generating ideas and empathy which I believe would work well together with other methods in the following design process.

Did any of the other design thinking techniques (design provocation cards, stories, storyboards, etc.) help you to work through ideas and collaborate with your group members?

The provocation cards use simple words to invoke new ideas. Personally, I do not think it works well on me; as I still cannot successfully brainstorm after seeing those cards. Our group tried to use those words at the beginning; however, nothing came up into our minds and we gave it up at the end. With regard to the storyboard, I think it is an easy and clear way to present and synthesize ideas. The pictures are more interesting and easier to be understood. Not only can we present group ideas to others though story board, but it also provides us with a clear way to refine our thoughts.

