1) Briefly reflect on the lessons learnt from each exercise

a. Reflective listening

Being a listener, I learned that using imagination to put myself into that speaker’s situation will help a lot to understand his feelings. Also I need to keep contact to the speaker, and sometimes give response, both bodily and lingual.

So the thing is I need to keep a balance between using imagination to understand and having reactions to the speaker. If I think to much about something or it remind me of a story, it’s easy for the speaker to notice that I have lose attention. However if I have to many interaction with the speaker, it’s not helpful for me too have a deep understand and realistic feeling of his words.

 

b. Defamiliarisation of everyday reality

We watched two videos, one was at a train station, the other was on a bus. I felt wired at first to think myself as another person.

However then I realised that it is also a good method to think differently and understand human’s feelings and emotions. Our sensations are always connected at some level. The visual signal, sounds, smells all leads to a relative memory, and sometime it can be an illusion or misconception. In this exercise we are trying to let our body tell the story, instead of our mind.

 

c. Empathic modeling

The plastic wrap is like a lens,it distorted everything and made them looks strange.

Actually our  cognition to the world is completely relying on our body senses. There is no way that we can know what the real world look like. For example, dogs can not see colors but snakes can see thermal image. I walked in the campus, took some pictures of the students, and I also went on the street.

Everything  is now something of a mystery. But what if there’s  a “plastic wrap” in our eyes? Maybe already get used to it so we can’t tell.

Anyway, I think through looking at the world differently brings us ideas and inspirations. Maybe that’s exactly what the artists do.

