1) Briefly reflect on the lessons learnt from each exercise

a. Reflective listening

It has big differences between listener and mindful speaker. To be a listener, I really need to concentrate on what my partner is talking about and try to reflect in a proper way. The most difficult part for me is that I am kind of perceptual, so everything she tells me reminds me of my own life and I have strong desire to share my stories. But I need to control the feeling and give the reflection. As for being a mind speaker, I don’t think that is hard for me. One thing should be paid attention to is that you have to keep telling stories in a specific topic and never talk about the wrong thing irrelevant to it.

b. Defamiliarisation of everyday reality

After watching the videos of the public transportation, I find it interesting to observe and think from other’s perspective. I think that everyone’s world is built based on the experience of themselves, so it differs from people to people. When you see something through other’s eyes, his experience and feelings at that moment will also have an effect on you, even the familiar scene seems to be different to some certain extent. It is just like a movie that what you feel is neither your feelings nor the character’s, but just a delicate combination of you two and in this case you can try to understand other’s needs and issues more.

c. Empathic modeling

When I cover my glasses with the cling wrap, the things in front of me get misty. I think it gives a real sense of what is the world seems like in someone’s eyes, who have ban eyesights. It is more useful to recognize users by feeling not only imagination. But this method is not available to simulate as some specific user groups, such as the pregnant women. Maybe there is some other ways to do the same things more convenient.

2) Complement your reflections with photographs of the process

3) Include a scanned copy of your defamiliarisation forms (public transport)

