Empathy and defamiliarisation

Briefly reflect on the lessons learnt from each exercise.

Reflective listening

I am not a good listener, especially on some topic I’m not interested in. so reflective listening is really helpful for me, Reflective listening is a more specific strategy than the more general methods of active listening. Seeking to understand a speaker’s idea, then offering the idea back to the speaker, to confirm the idea has been understood correctly. Also Empathy with the speaker is important in this process, making them feel comfortable in revealing insights which I think is very important part of listening. 

 

Defamiliarisation of everyday reality

In viewing the two videos – firstly of watching a train depart. The fist shot is an old men siting on the public seat, and then the train come over, commuters getting off and on the train and then the train keep moving, the shooting position is opposite the train coming way which makes me feel not comfortable, also feel a littler bit dizzy by the noising of the train engine. If this is a move, I would say it is very boring. But this is our daily life. Secondly is the sequence of the bus journey. The Shooting view is in the bus make audience feeling like sitting on the bus which sending me the truly nature experience: The shaking bus, narrow road, busy traffic, noisy engine…,, by watching this situation makes me feeling other senses that I may never found in the daily life is safety. By this way I can experiencing a space and moment.

 

Experience modelling

This experience is totally new for us, when everything become blurry and removing through this familiar environment with reduced vision, you start to opening an other sense of your body like ears or noses. It was an interesting experience to feeling the environment using new organ.

Complement your reflections with photographs of the process

Public transport defamiliarisation form

