Affinity diagram activity was really fun, I got a heuristic and efficiency method to do teamwork. But it’s a pity that I just finish half of the reading materials, it seems that I still need to improve my English a lot.

 

  • How did this exercise help you build empathy with prospective users?

In this exercise, we read some interview materials first and put forward requirement from interviewee’s perspective. To do this, I need to pretend I was the tourist in the interview and try to find his real feeling during his journey.

 

  • How did the clustering of information help you to understand user needs?

After we post affinity notes in a line, we found some needs are require by most of us but others not, I think if we have more team members this would be more obvious. So the importance of every needs is ranking by length of the line. After this we summarize the content of every line to abstract their generality. By doing abstraction several times and write them in note with different color, we could find the most essential needs.

IMG_1483

 

  • What was difficult or challenging with the technique?

The number of quizzees are to less(just 4 team member). If we want to acquire a more precise result we need to use questionnaire or other way to get more information. What’s more, maybe we can build a software about affinity diagram or add this function to google drive because in this way we can use it without any limitation like post-it note, place etc. It never hurts more than one option.

 

  • How would you do it better next time?

If I’m going to do a real project, I will make questionnaire to obtain abundant information and then use affinity diagram to summarize and explore essential needs.

 

