1.How did this exercise help you build empathy with prospective users?

The only way that we can build empathy with prospective users is to think in their views or experience the same things as they do. This exercise use the labels of “interests”, “needs” “motivation” and “frustration” to help us figure out the types of potential customers’ feelings. It is a good method to sort them out and put them into their own categories , hence things become easy to deal with. Also, we build a sense of categorizing somehow. After doing that, as a result, those different labels can quickly give us a inspiration of empathy emotionally. We can better understand the prospective users’ real thoughts.

2.How did the clustering of information help you to understand user needs?

When we find the common features among a cluster of things which are seemingly unrelated at the very beginning, I know that this lesson help me a lot to inspire my sense of multiple possibilities. I learnt a lot from my friends and really enjoy these kinds of activities. When walking around, the following  masterpiece astonished me a lot!

 

because all the posters are gathered by the emotional features. The blue notes are always written with a strong expressive feeling like “I WANT …”. I never thought about things can be summarized like this, but…why not? It is quite interesting and give me a deep impression. Yes, I want! A strong voice from the heart that gives us a better understanding and empathy to the users’ needs! Thanks to design thinking. I cannot wait to next course giving me more inspirations.

 

3.What was difficult or challenging with the technique? How would you do it better next time?

Using the note materials to cluster materials is not a good choice in my perspective, because it will meet difficulties when meeting massive information. Nowadays, we are in a booming information era, categorisations cannot be done in this manual way. So, next time, if we can use the software to cluster things, it will be more effective and easy to modify.

Another challenge is that we can have several kinds of clustering criteria, this is so common that even in our one group, we can cluster them in three different ways. All of us have the reason to cluster them in our way. It is a big challenge to decide which one to use. We cannot say which one is better or not. When we have a public acknowledged criteria, however, it may hurts the multiple design thinking. So, it is really a big difficulty and challenge I still cannot find a way to deal with.

