IMG_9352How did this exercise help you build empathy with prospective users?

This exercise involved extracting every minor and major detail about a person’s interests, needs and motivations from an interview. This approach helped me build empathy with the prospective user by helping me understand their preferences, like and dislikes and the reasons behind it. Their response to the interview questions helped me visualize and comprehend how they would respond to a particular situation or a particular product.

How did the clustering of information help you understand user needs?

The clustering of information helped me organize my thoughts and get a bigger and more focused picture about the users likes and dislikes, especially when trying to come up with one sentence that could describe each cluster. This sentence, or title, made the data more clear and easy to understand.

What was difficult or challenging with the technique? How would you do it better next time?

challenges with this technique include trying to deal with a great amount of notes and trying to categorize the notes into groups, as well as trying to understand what the user really meant from the interview excerpt on each note.

If I do this exercise again, I would try to detail my notes a little more, or add an extra note or sketch next to the excerpt to help me understand what the user meant within the context of the interview.

