1. How is this technique different to the traditional note taking?

Traditionally, people write down full words or half sentences to memorize key ideas and information; however, sketching provides designers with a visualized note-taking strategy which can be quite effective. One obvious difference is that sketching makes notes vivid and supports designers to recall the content by using simple lines and shapes rather than words.It is more direct than interpreting the scratchy words into ideas. Moreover, the misunderstanding of unclear handwriting in traditional note taking may result in misunderstanding and loss of ideas. Another different thing is that sketching is “open-ended”. Drawing simple lines and shapes may save a large amount time, during which designers are also able to sketch down new ideas that appear in their minds.

2. How does this visual approach facilitate communication of your ideas? Conversely, how does it prevent it?

For me, it is always better to view pictures than read words. Sketching allows me to translate information into visual images rather than guessing the idea of my poor handwriting. It saves time and supports creativity. However, sketchers’ sketching ability may affect idea communication. Unclear drawings may prevent communication as well. Therefore, I currently I combine sketching and the traditional method together when doing some serious note-taking. Just in case I left some important information.

3. Personal challenges as a sketchnoter.

The biggest challenge for me as a sketcher is my drawing skills. I am quite bad at drawing and there are times that I know what I want to draw but have no idea how to do it. 😔  It took me time to think about how to draw objects, so I missed some key points while listening. Anyhow, it is nice that I still have the passion for sketching. Therefore, I may have to find related books and exercise to catch up with my sketching skills and enrich my sketching vocabulary.

Attached sketchnotes:

