1. How is this sketch noting technique different to the traditional note-taking?

This sketch noting technique definitely involves more visualisation, imagination and exploration than traditional note-taking, which really taps into a creative side that I never thought I had to express ideas. It helps me digest contents in the storyline better, as compared to when I used to note things down word-for-word without really processing what I have written. Sketching makes me think about what I have to do to best represent ideas with simple drawings and does leave a stronger impression on me.

  1. How does this visual approach facilitate communication of your ideas? Conversely, how does it prevent it?

It creates interest and draws more attention to my notes, as compared to my usual written ones. It helps me express my thoughts in forms that I would best like to represent and could help my readers picture the ideas that I would like to convey.

This approach may also not work to favour as readers may have a different perception of my drawings and may not be able to interpret the storyline well just from sketches. In sketch noting, it is hard to indicate details, so parts of the storyline could not be represented in the notes.

  1. Personal challenges as a sketchnoter.

Having to process my thoughts about how to express ideas in the storyline through drawing, it takes up much more time and therefore I am not able to capture and represent the entire story. It is tricky for me to multitask listening and drawing at the same time. Sometimes the drawings may appear abstract or illogical in the end which makes it difficult to interpret, understand and review at a later time. Overall, I still feel that sketch noting is definitely a useful way to bring out my creative side to facilitate the communication of ideas as clearly as possible.

 

13682496_10154009018779635_680394287_o 13838412_10154009018679635_1670155961_o

