1. My understanding of affordances changed over the course exercise through the interaction and manipulation of the object. Initially I thought creating new meaning and purposes of an object involved brain storming while observing. The sketching of the object allowed a greater engagement and understanding of the unique properties of the object which resulted in the development of new purposes. Such as the reflective properties of my object (sunglassses) being used for a mirror etc. The most useful exercise I found was the interaction of the object which gave way to many more creative ideas but somewhat restricted it to the body. Imagining the object in different environments and people helped broaden my perspective and see the limitations of certain elements. As my object is generally used outside, imaging it inside allowed me to think of different affordances such as a book end and a reading stand. Manipulating the object didn’t really work for me as I didn’t want to change it. However, when working in a pair and with Aarons object which was altered in physical state the affordances dramatically changed and this coupled with directly interacting with it opened up unique possibilities such as a fashion advisor on your wrist. The understanding of the object used by different people with impaired movement in this situation was a great exercise in creativity. Im beggining to realise that physical contact is a key driver for creativity for me. IMG_4636(b)IMG_46322. The manipulation of an object was best undertaken with Aaron mouse object which was covered in foil and used as an interactive arm band. It allowed greater interaction with the object and further develop alternate ideas. The more interactive the object with more human to person relationship and engagement the greater the inspiration and generation of ideas. Also, the more manipulation the greater the inspiration. I had no idea that this level of engagement would drive design ideas to the extent that it did.
