A. Reflective listening – I learnt that I’m a better listener than I am a talker. It was good to have some tips re. being a better talker such as slowing down, giving more detail and feelings etc. I also learnt that reflecting back to the person what they said built empathy and appeared to help the other person relax. I used this technique while interviewing people in my assignment and it worked really well in building trust, helping people open up as well as clarifying exactly what people were saying.

B. Defamiliarisation of everyday reality – this was a good exercise in putting myself in someone else’s shoes while viewing a situation that is not engaging/ feels good. I don’t like being at a train station and I was surprised how much I didn’t want to engage with the process. I don’t like the atmosphere, noise, views, waiting for a train. The only positive feeling I got from the exercise was when I saw the train to Liverpool and it evoked memories of catching the train to and from my sisters house when I first moved to Sydney. Memories and escape would be a key design idea for this space. I loved the written reflection without thinking after. Quite cathartic.

Blog 4Blog 4b

C. Experience modelling – this experience was a great way to feel how other people might view the world. Very relevant to the work that I do in urban design and often not done. Its easy to think that the designer knows best but this technique reminded me that you really have no idea what other people might be experiencing or feeling in situation. A literal response to being in someone else shoes and a great was to build empathy. IMG_4450

